you're reading...

TGI Fridays now has Beyond Meat burgers! But vegans, don’t get fries with that.

Before the end of 2017, restaurant chain TGI Fridays announced that it was going to include the Beyond burger in its menu for 2018. Following a successful test run in October, the restaurant decided to include the Beyond burger in ALL of its locations starting… NOW!

That’s right, at any of the 450+ TGI Fridays locations, you can eat not just any vegan burger, but one of the best.

I noticed that the restaurant advertises the burger with cheese and the Friday’s sauce. I was also wondering if the fries were “safe” for vegans. So I reached out to TGI Fridays:

I received the following response:

So, vegans, take note: If you go to TGI Fridays for the beyond burger, make you sure that you specify no cheese and no special sauce. And it seems like they must fry their French fries using the same equipment as their animal flesh products – which is really disappointing!

UPDATE: TGI Fridays responded to someone seeking clarification to their fries.

I think we should petition the restaurant to have a dedicated fryer for its fries. Because who wants to eat a burger with no fries?! Not this vegan!

I chose to feature the image of the Beyond burger patty and not the Beyond burger as advertised by TGI Fridays since in their advertisement it is non-vegan (includes cheese and sauce).

About The Paw Report

I graduated from St. John's University School of Law in 2012, and am admitted to practice law in New York State. I was a member of the New York City Bar Association's Animal Law Committee for three years. I was born and raised in Rhode Island, but moved to New Mexico when I was 18. After dabbling in film for two years, I graduated from the University of New Mexico with a degree in Anthropology. I've been living in New York City since 2008, and currently reside in Brooklyn with my boyfriend and our two cats. I am a former organizer with Direct Action Everywhere - New York City.


One thought on “TGI Fridays now has Beyond Meat burgers! But vegans, don’t get fries with that.

  1. Just as a heads up; the corporate office claims the challah bun is vegan. But the 8 different south florida locations I’ve called today all make the claim that all burger buns they serve contain eggs.


    Posted by Losgar | May 23, 2018, 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: